Nomination Form

  • E.J. Shaheen Chair for Teaching Excellence Award

  • The E.J. Shaheen Chair for Teaching Excellence is presented annually to a full-time faculty member who demonstrates excellence in teaching and who reflects the value of education to students of Glen Oaks Community College.

    Please submit nomination no later than 4:00 p.m., Monday, March 22, 2021.

  • Your Name: * Required
  • Full-Time Faculty you wish to nominate: * Required
    A complete listing of all full time faculty can be found below the submit button.
  • Please expand fully in your nomination letter the following characteristics, examples and actions of this person that merit recognition for teaching excellence .

    • Active member of the College community; demonstrates inside and outside the classroom a high professional standard
    • Shows expertise in course content; displays creative thinking and innovative techniques in the learning environment
    • Makes the difficult learnable; is responsive to learning styles
    • Expresses enthusiasm for learning; motivates students to learn and creates an environment that is conducive to learning
    • Has an excellent ability to convey knowledge to students; encourages lifelong learning and challenges students to think critically
    • Cares about how all are doing; appreciates diversity and makes connections
  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.


Alyse (Gordon) Bannister Lori Hatfield Mike Northrop
Jerry Barkley Jeff Hucko Steve Proefrock
Sara Boylan Dr. Lester Keith Steve Ryno
Rebecca Burch Reid Leaverton Mike Sandelin
Pam Carrel Bill Lederman Cheryl Schmitt
Kevin Connor Susan Louis Linda Walker
Jim Deroshia Michelle McNamara Carol Weatherford
Karen Goodman Carol Naccarato Chad Worthington
Dr. Ren Hartung Nick Nollinger