Group Photo of Student Winners (not all present)

Awards presented to 24 Glen Oaks students

Twenty-four area students received awards presented by many of the faculty at a 7:00 p.m., Friday, April 24 program in the Glen Oaks Community College Nora Hagen Theatre. This was the 39th Annual Awards Reception at the College.

Dr. Ana Gaillat, Dean of the College, welcomed the students and visitors. The Glen Oaks Choir opened the evening with the Glen Oaks Alma Mater and “A Song Sung Once” by composer A.F. Bernon. William Furr, Professor of Business, presented the awards, including the Business Award. Jeanne Reed, Professor of Sociology, presented two John Ward Faculty Scholarships. Students, many of whom will graduate next week, distinguished themselves in a number of ways, according to two dozen faculty members who made the awards. The college choir ended the program with “Play for Me a Simple Melody,” an Irving Berlin arrangement by composer Kirby Shaw . Light refreshments were served on the Concourse.

The John Ward Faculty Scholarships this year went to Joel Eichorn, a Sturgis nursing student, and Monica Wirick-Wilds, a Three Rivers accounting and business student. The Business Department award was presented to Dawn Degregorio of Three Rivers. Dawn is a supervisor at American Axle & Manufacturing and is also on a fast track to complete studies this October for a Bachelor’s Degree in Business at Spring Arbor University.

Students honored:
Susie Drust of Sturgis by Professor of Art Michael Northrop, Brook Eagle of Colon by Professor of Early Childhood Education Karen Grunert, David Frazier of Colon by Professor of Business William Furr, Audra Gascho of Three Rivers by Communications Instructor Karen Metzger, Pete Guerra of Sebring, Florida by Professor of History/Political Science Robert Wathen, Sue Gyllstrom of Mendon by Business and Communications Instructor Michelle McNamara, Caitlin Hull of Sturgis by Professor of Communications Rebecca Burch, Angela Layman of Kalamazoo by Professor of Nursing William Lederman, Justin Lippert of Coldwater by Mathematics Instructor Michael Sandelin, Monica Marasigan of Coldwater by Professor of Information Technology Kevin Conner, Emily Mast of Mendon by Professor of Mathematics Susan Deter, Caryssa Matianski of Sturgis by Communications Instructor Amy Norkus, Tammie McCoy of Leonidas by Professor of CAD/Drafting James Cook, Kasie Miller of Sturgis by Professor of Math/Science Jerry Barkley and Professor of English/Spanish Judy DeMink, Joshua Philips of Sturgis by Professor of English Kevin Gave, Lindsey Ransbottom of Marcellus by Professor of Sociology Jeanne Reed, Michelle Romeo of Mendon by Professor of Nursing Janell Lederman, Aanee Ruple of Colon by Professor of English Lucy Zimmerman, Amie Stevens of Mendon by Information Technology Instructor Kathy Russell, Corey Thelen of Sturgis by Professor of Business Administration Dr. Lester Keith, and Tyler Vander Schaaf of Three Rivers by Professor of Accounting Larry Hass.

Professor of Business William Furr (left), Dawn Degregorio (center), Professor of Business Administration Dr. Lester Keith (right)
Business Award: Dawn Degregorio (center) flanked by Professor of Business William
Furr (left) and Professor of Business Administration Dr. Lester Keith (right)
Monica Wirick -Wilds (left) and Joel Eichor n (right)
John Ward Faculty Award: Monica Wirick-Wilds (left) and Joel Eichorn (right)