Group of 14 honor students posing for group photo.

Glen Oaks faculty recognize exceptional students

Sixteen Glen Oaks Community College students earned honors in a special Friday, April 9 ceremony. Master of Ceremonies William Furr, Professor of Business, said the students all display a strong desire to excel in their college classes. This was the 41st Annual Faculty Awards presentation.

Dr. Ana Gaillat, Dean of the College, said Glen Oaks faculty nominated students who earned high grades, worked hard, took on difficult assignments, attended all their classes, asked questions, and took an active role in class. Several of the award recipients have returned to the classroom on a path to change careers and better their lives. Several students juggle coursework with busy family schedules and full-time work.

Students Leanna Dene Tokarski of Three Rivers and Cynthia Marie Bailey of Coldwater shared the John Ward Faculty Scholarship Award. This scholarship commemorates the late John Ward, a Professor of Engineering at Glen Oaks for many years. The scholarship is based on contributions from college faculty. Jeanne Reed, Professor of Sociology, said Tokarski and Bailey each received $1,000. Reed said the students must excel in departmental work, display interest in a specific field of study, and maintain a 3.3 grade point average over 24 semester hours of college work.

Lydia Bungart of Three Rivers received the Business Award from Larry Hass, Professor of Business. This award from the Business Department honors those who display high academic standards, excellence in the classroom, and a desire to work in the business world.

Others receiving a faculty award:

Jena Bender of Shipshewana, Indiana was nominated by Jeanne Reed, Professor of Sociology.
Rebecca Brueck of Centreville was nominated by William Lederman, Professor of Nursing.
Lydia Bungart of Three Rivers was nominated by Larry Hass and Dr. Lester Keith, Professors of Business.
Terri Graham of Three Rivers was nominated by Janell Lederman, Professor of Nursing.
Kiri Johnson of Three Rivers was nominated by Robert Wathen, Professor of History/ Political Science and by Lucy Zimmerman, Professor of English.
Lydia Krauss of Three Rivers was nominated by Karen Grunert, Professor of Early Childhood.
Helen LaForce of Sturgis was nominated by Brenda Luczek, Instructor of Allied Health.
Brianna Miller of Sturgis was nominated by Kathy Russell, Instructor of Information Technology.
Pamela Moreno of Mongo, Indiana was nominated by Michelle McNamara, Instructor of Business/Communications.
Barbara Polacek of Sturgis was nominated by Michael Sandelin, Instructor of Mathematics.
Lyndsey Roggelien of Three Rivers was nominated by Nancy Haylett, Professor of Nursing.
Elizabeth Rose of Sturgis was nominated by Judy DeMink, Professor of English/Spanish.
Justin Sturgill of Howe, Indiana was nominated by James Cook, Professor of Drafting/CAD.
Tammaria Williams of Howe, Indiana was nominated by Kevin Conner, Professor of Information/Technology.