Glen Oaks Community College News Article (generic - no featured image)

Glen Oaks welcomes 20 members to scholastic honorary

Glen Oaks Community College honored 20 scholars with induction Sunday, November 8 into Phi Theta Kappa, the international honor society for community college students. The Alpha Delta Omega chapter of PTK is chartered at Glen Oaks. Students must maintain a 3.3 grade point average to become a member. Michael Sandelin, instructor of math, welcomed the Fall induction group with opening remarks. He introduced the guest speaker, Jacob Smallegan, Michigan Regional Secretary/Treasurer and President of Beta Xi Xi at Muskegon Community College.

Phi Theta Kappa Advisor Karen Grunert, Professor of Early Childhood Education, and Co-Advisor Kathy Pelikan, Administrative Assistant to the Dean of the College, greeted the students. Ruth Corrie, instructor of music, provided the Processional and Recessional music on piano. Dawn Wood, PTK member, gave the Invocation.

Cora Davis, President of the local PTK chapter, welcomed the new inductees by noting, “The students are invited to become members based on their scholastic performance. The principles of PTK are scholarship, leadership, service, and fellowship.” Other officers are Vice President of Fund Raising Sara Miller, Vice President of Public Relations Tina Holst, and Secretary Taylor Moberley. New members paused at a ceremonial table to light a candle and sign the chapter register after receiving their certificate.

The new members are:

Coldwater: Amy Hiscock

Colon: Andrew Miller

Constantine: Roxanne Barbre and Jacob Bisig

Howe, Indiana: Sara Schwartz and Justin Sturgill

LaGrange, Indiana: Thelma Kassee

Mendon: Rachel Fambro and Rachael Rice

Mongo, Indiana: Pamela Moreno

Sturgis: Lisa Borgert, Kasie Miller, Carly Roach and Kimberly Zickafoose

Three Rivers: Darlene Alexandersen, Abigail Evans, Lydia Krauss, Susan Polzin, and Leanna Tokarski

White Pigeon: Sean Vaillancourt