Glen Oaks Community College News Article (generic - no featured image)

Glen Oaks welcomes 34 members to scholastic honorary

Glen Oaks Community College honored 34 scholars with induction Friday, November 12 into Phi Theta Kappa, the international honor society for community college students. The Alpha Delta Omega chapter of PTK is chartered at Glen Oaks. Students must maintain a 3.3 grade point average to become a member. Chad Worthington, instructor of Psychology, welcomed the induction group as their advisor and later addressed the group. Lucy Zimmerman, retired English professor, provided the Processional and Recessional piano music. Dawn Wood, PTK member, gave the Invocation.

Tina Rensi, President of the local PTK chapter, also welcomed the new inductees into the international honor society which promotes the academic achievement of two-year college students. Phi Theta Kappa is the largest honor society in American higher education with more than 1.3 million members and 1,200 chapters located in fifty states, U.S. Territories, Canada and Germany.

Other officers are Vice President of Fund Raising Cindy Cummings, Vice President of Public Relations Candice Hicks, and Secretary Caitlin Courtney. New members paused at a ceremonial table to light a candle and sign the chapter register after receiving their certificate.

The new members are:

Melissa Battaglia.
Burr Oak:
Jean Milliman.
Jenny Bower, Timothy Brandys, Maria Lambert, Debra Overholt.
Matthew Avery, Michelle Jones, Kendall Stuckey.
Tricia Billingsley, Karen Lounsbury, Jason Newsome.
Keshia Greene
Tiffani Spealman.
David Abner, Jr., Vickie Blount, Ashley Bowman, Daniel Cummings, Shelby Dury, Robert Easterday, Tony Gunthorp, Naomi Harless, Steven Harmon, Dayna Hart, Jill Mast, Jodi Morell, Jessica Neff, Stacie Ogg, Alyssa Roach, Laura Smith.
Three Rivers:
Mallory Martin, Tiffany Miars.
Jessica Lambright
White Pigeon:
Julie Vosburg.