Glen Oaks Community College News Article (generic - no featured image)

GOCC Foundation awards 67 scholarships

The Glen Oaks Community College Foundation has announced its 2012-2013 scholarship award recipients. The Foundation is awarding amount is approximately $57,000 to 67 students who were chosen by a committee for their academic achievements. Additionally, the athletic program received a $25,000 grant to award scholarships to student athletes who are participating on one or more of the Viking sports teams.

Through philanthropic efforts of the Foundation, charitable cash gifts have given many students of Glen Oaks Community College the opportunity of an education that will in turn help to change their lives in a positive way. Many supporters have found partnerships with the Foundation a rewarding experience that has allowed countless students to flourish. Glen Oaks appreciates those individuals and wishes to extend a sincere Thank You! To learn how you can give to the GOCC Foundation, contact Executive Director Janene Breneman at (269) 294-4384.

The scholarships, by category and name, were awarded to the following students:


Joslin Memorial Art Scholarship – Tara McGregor, Wolcottville, IN


Paul P. Clark Golf Scholarship – Justin Horst, Middlebury, IN, Jonathon Freese, Three Rivers, Max Bales, Schoolcraft, Jeremy Altimus, Marcellus;
Jim Bishop Memorial Athletic Scholarship – Jessica Mathews, Three Rivers, Dan Scheske, Sturgis.


Richard M. Bell Banking Scholarship – Brett Modert, Sturgis;
Century Bank & Trust Business Scholarship – Anthony Weston, Constantine;
Dr. George R. Hoekzema Business Studies Scholarship – Justin Horst, Middlebury, IN, Tiffany Schumacher, White Pigeon, Trista Bernheisel, Leonidas, Seth Brumbaugh, Sturgis, Matt Vizthum, Sturgis, Kylee Schlabach, Centreville;
Farmers State Bank Business Scholarship – selection in process;
Southern Michigan Bank & Trust Business Scholarship – Anthony Weston, Constantine;
Sturgis Bank & Trust Business Scholarship – selection in progress.


Augspurger Scholarship – Kristina Holtz, Sturgis;
Jessie Alice Ray General Studies Scholarship – Courtney Yeager, Centreville, Janet Smith, Colon, Tracy Roberts, Constantine, Marisa Redmond, Sturgis, Nayeli Munoz, Sturgis, Tara McGregor, Wolcottville, Christina Johnson, Mendon, Melodie Frazin, Burr Oak, Helen Datkovic, Sturgis;
LTI Printing Scholarship – Janet Smith, Colon, Jessica Kelley, Centreville, Amy Larkin, Three Rivers, Kaidy Johnson, Sturgis, Bailey Abbs, Sturgis, Logan Ulmer, Three Rivers, Sara Stuck, Burr Oak;
Elmer Black Community Leadership Scholarship – Adam West, Constantine;
Gary & Susan Wheeler Leadership Scholarship – Casie Lemley, Centreville;
Gray Brothers Stamping Machine Company Scholarship – Nathaniel Wolf, Sturgis;
GOCC Foundation Scholarship – Alexandra Brazo, Sturgis;
Indiana Michigan Power Scholars Endowment – Lisa Toothman, Centreville;
Senator Harry Gast Leadership Scholarship – Kaidy Johnson, Three Rivers;
Mitchell Baker General Studies Scholarship – Ceasar Iniquez, Sturgis.

Health Sciences

Alice & George F. Field Nursing Scholarship – Jason Newsome, LaGrange, IN;
Jaffe (Fredrica, Neva, & Abraham) Scholarship – Wendell Eichorn, Leonidas, Casey Boggs, Sturgis;
Mary A. Hoffine Nursing Scholarship – Kristina Mellinger, Constantine;
Howard & Betty Lambertson Medical Studies – Kari McClain, Three Rivers;
Runyan Nursing Scholarship – Amy Kline, Three Rivers;
Dennis & Sharon Baker Nursing Scholarship – Erin Clous, Battle Creek;
Donald & Eloise Wiedenbeck Nursing Scholarship – Katie Rumsey, Sturgis;
Joan & Richard Jacobs Nursing Scholarship – selection in process;
Patricia J. Wortinger Nursing Scholarship – Katelyn Ronk, White Pigeon;
Ward/MacMillan Memorial Scholarship – Mary DeNio, Coldwater;
Ron & Keli Lynn Roach Memorial Health Occupation – Kelly King, White Pigeon.

Human Services

Bernice L. Strang Memorial Fund – Emili Axe, Constantine, Bethany Sult, Constantine; Jessie A. Ray Memorial Scholarship – Samantha Chandler, Vandalia, Racheal Foetisch, Three Rivers, Joshua Bohm, Centreville, Sherese Miller, Sturgis;
Kenneth R. Nelson Scholarship – Helen Datkovic, Sturgis.


Donis Armstrong “A Step Up to the Sciences” – Racheal Foetisch, Three Rivers, Courtney Yeager, Centreville;
Upward Bound—“Invest in You” Upward Bound Scholarship – Josef Anderson, Sturgis, Reynaldo Mata Jr., Three Rivers, Morgan Samson, Three Rivers;
Ernest R. Graham Upward Bound Scholarship – Josef Anderson, Sturgis.