Glen Oaks Community College News Article (generic - no featured image)
Start a career as a nurse aide, build skills, relationships and a career in healthcare
Glen Oaks Community College will be offering three Nurse Aide Training programs this
semester to help meet the demand in the community for nurse aides.

“Requests for nurse aides have been made at every regional healthcare meeting that I have attended
over the last year,” said Carol Naccarato, director of Allied Health/Medical Assisting. “Being a nurse aide
is so valuable. Not only do they assist the nurse but they are the ones that get to know the patients
the best. They are vital to quality care. There are ads in the reginal newspaper on a daily and weekly
basis as well. It is tough to train them fast enough to keep up with the demand.”

“The Glen Oaks nurse aide class prepares one to sit for the state certification exam and start working
within a very short period of time,” said Naccarato. “Jobs are available as home health aides in
rehabilitation centers and other long-term care facilities.”

Nurse aides perform a wide range of tasks and provide direct patient care. They help move and
transport patients, educate patients and family members about health issues and treatments, take and
record vital signs, apply dressings and collect specimens for labs.

Individuals are encouraged to learn more about the program and career opportunities and should
contact Debbie Wright at (269) 294 – 4219.

Upcoming Nurse Aide Training class schedules at Glen Oaks are as follows:

ALH 104, Sec. 1 (Feb.1 – Feb.26)
1st three weeks: Monday, Feb. 1 – Friday, Feb. 19, 2 p.m. – 6:15 p.m. at Glen Oaks (F208)
4 th week: Monday, Feb 22, 6 a.m. – 10:45 a.m., Tuesday, Feb. 23 – Friday, Feb. 26, 6 a.m. – 12:30
p.m. at nursing home.

ALH 104, Sec. 2 (March. 3 – Apr. 2)
1 st three weeks: Thursday, Mar. 3 – Saturday, Mar. 19, 8 a.m. – 4:15 p.m. at Glen Oaks (F208)
4 th week: Thursday, Mar. 31 thru Saturday, Apr. 2, 6 a.m. – 3:30 p.m. at nursing home.

ALH 104, Sec. 3 (Apr. 11 – May 5)
1 st three weeks: Monday, Apr. 11 – Friday, Apr. 29, 5 p.m. – 9:15 p.m. at Glen Oaks (F208)
4 th week: Monday, May 2, 6 a.m. – 12:30 p.m., Tuesday, May 3 thru Thursday, May 5, 6 a.m. – 2:00
p.m. at nursing home.

It_work-study